Gauss's law


In physics, Gauss’s law, also known as Gauss’s flux theorem, is a law relating the distribution of electric charge to the resulting electric field.
The law was formulated by Carl Friedrich Gauss in 1835, but was not published until 1867. It is one of the four Maxwell’s equations which form the basis of classical electrodynamics, the other three being Gauss’s law for magnetism, Faraday’s law of induction, and Ampère’s law with Maxwell’s correction. Gauss’s law can be used to derive Coulomb’s law, and vice versa.

Related formulas


ΦEelectric flux through a closed surface S enclosing any volume (kg*m3*s-3*A-1)
Qtotal charge enclosed within S (coulomb)
ϵ0electric constant